Emilia Romagna

Emilia Romagna

Things to do - general

Where is Emilia Romagna?

Emilia-Romagna is located in Northern Italy and evolved from the joining of two historic regions: Emilia and Romagna. The capital is Bologna. it has an area of 22,124 square kilometres and about 4.3 million inhabitants. The region is divided into nine provinces: Bologna, Ferrara, Forli-Cesena, Modena, Parma, Piacenza, Ravenna, Reggio Emilia and Rimini. Emilia-Romagna borders onto: Liguria, Piedmont, Lombardia, Veneto, Le Marche and Tuscany.

Emilia-Romagna is one of the wealthiest regions in Italy and is considered to be one of the richest and most developed regions in Europe. Bologna, the region’s capital, is reputed to have one of Italy’s highest quality of life, with extremely modern and advanced social services. It is also home to the oldest university in the Western World. The famous Renaissance cities of Modena, Parma and Ferrara also add to the cultural wealth of the region.

Several world-famous supercar manufacturers are based in Emilia-Romagna: Ferrari, Lamborghini and Maserati as well as famous motor cycle manufacturer, Ducati. The region has a lively and colourful coastline, with several well-known resorts, such as Cattolica and Rimini.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Languages spokenItalian and other local dialects
Currency usedEuro
Area (km2)22,124
Population4.451 million

Culture and history info

Inhabited since very ancient times as revealed from archeological findings, the region was occupied by the Etruscans in the 6th century BC. In the 4th century it was then invaded by the Celts, then in the third the Romans conquered it, joining its territory to Liguria. Augustus gave it the name of Aemilia, as the Octava Regio (8th region) of the Empire.

With the decadence of the Roman empire, in 402 AD Emperor Onorius moved the capital from Rome to Ravenna, calling the Eastern side of the region Romania and making it into the political center of the Western Roman Empire in the last decades of its existence.
The Lombard invaders conquered only part of the region, more or less the area of Modena, Parma, Piacenza and Reggio, while Ravenna and Bologna stayed under the jurisdiction of the surviving Eastern Roman Empire, whose capital was Byzanthium. With the coming of the Franks the region was entrusted to the Pope, to be politically included in the State of the Church in the early 11th century.

When the municipal life started to rise again, in the late Middle Ages (13th - 14th centuries) such towns as Bologna, Piacenza, Modena and Reggio enjoyed a remarkable prosperity, also due to the strategic position of the region among the many Italian States of the time and to powerful families, such as the Farnese and Estensi. After being for centuries a constellation of Dukedoms and States, the region was finally united to the newborn Kingdom of Italy in 1860.

Unfortunately there are no accommodations at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.



  • If you are a U.S. citizen
  • Will be traveling to Italy for up to 90 days for tourism
  • Will be traveling to Italy for up to 90 days for
    • study,
    • business
    • as part of a political or government mission
    • for a sports event
    • in response to an invitation from a recognized Italian public or private entity.



To apply for a visa in the U.S. you need to have at least one of the following:

  • U.S. Passport;
  • U.S. Permanent Resident Card (formerly Green Card);
  • For foreign students, a valid visa and valid I-20;
  • For exchange visitors, a valid visa and valid DS-2019;
  • Long term U.S. visas (Ex. L1, L2, H1, H2, R1 etc…) except B1/B2;
  • U.S. Refugee Travel Document.

You can apply for a visa at the Italian Embassy in Washingon DC only if you live in:

  • The District of Columbia (D.C.);
  • Maryland (M.D.): only Montgomery and Prince George's Counties (all other Counties are under the jurisdiction of the Italian General Consulate in Philadelphia);
  • Virginia (V.A.): only Arlington and Fairfax Counties and the City of Alexandria (all other Counties are under the jurisdiction of the Italian General Consulate in Philadelphia).